BLOG TOUR POST + REVIEW: To Have and to Hoax by Martha Waters @marthabwaters @AtriaBooks #ToHaveandToHoax

to-have-and-to-hoax-9781982136116_hr

Publisher: Atria Books

Release Date: April 07, 2020

Genre: Adult Fiction / Historical Romance

 

Blurb:

Five years ago, Lady Violet Grey and Lord James Audley met on a balcony and fell in love. They married weeks later. One year into their wedded bliss, however, they had a fight to end all fights, and have barely spoken since.

Their once-passionate love match has been reduced to one of cold, detached politeness. But when Violet receives a letter that James has been thrown from his horse and rendered unconscious at their country estate, she races to be by his side—only to discover him alive and well at a tavern, and completely unaware of her concern.

Violet hatches a plan of her own, feigning illness to teach her estranged husband a lesson. James quickly sees through it, but he decides to play along in an ever-escalating game of manipulation, featuring actors masquerading as doctors, threats of Swiss sanitariums, faux mistresses—and a lot of flirtation between a husband and wife who might not hate each other as much as they thought.

TO HAVE AND TO HOAX is a charming, witty, and wholly entertaining romantic comedy—perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Sally Thorne, and Julia Quinn.

My Thoughts:

Song/s the book brought to mind: Dreams by The Cranberries

If you are looking for a lighthearted historical romance that reads like a romcom, then To Have and to Hoax by Martha Waters is the debut novel for you!

This is my first foray into historical romance and I quite enjoyed it! The bickering between our couple, James and Violet, was very entertaining and this book is laugh out loud funny. I loved Violet’s sarcasm and quick wit, and I was laughing before page 8. I was having a hard time concentrating on reading but To Have and to Hoax was exactly what I needed to reset and refocus. I had completely forgotten it is set in the 1800s, so it was a fun surprise when I realized that again. I haven’t read much at all set in the time period, and I liked learning a little bit more about it.

It has to be said that I also love the cover of the book. It is very simple which I love, and I like the nod to a lot of the contemporary romance covers out right now. Looking at the cover you may not know it is a historical romance and I love that about it. I think the purple cover would make it a great addition to anyone’s bookshelf.

To Have and to Hoax had plenty of sexual tension and a couple steamy scenes but they were definitely on the tame side which I like. There are so many great characters in here and I would love to see another book focusing on any or all of them.

The only reason I set my rating at a 4 instead of a 5 is because I thought the game playing went on a little too long and the book could have been shorter. Overall though To Have and to Hoax was a great debut novel and it had 2 elements I really love – it felt like a quick read (and probably will be for most readers), and it made me laugh more times than I can count. I will definitely read any other books Waters writes!

MY RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ / 5

Thank you to the publisher for providing me with an advance review copy of this book, all opinions are my own.

 

About the author

165145304_hr

Martha Waters was born and raised in sunny South Florida, and is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She works as a children’s librarian in North Carolina, and spends much of her free time traveling. To Have and To Hoax is her first novel.

 

BUY LINKS

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Books-a-Million

IndieBound

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s