AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: The In Between by Michael Landweber @mlandweber @audible_com @brit_pressley #AudiobookReview

unnamed

Listen with Audible

Publisher: Audible Original

Release Date: April 07, 2020

Genre: Science Fiction / Teleportation

 

Goodreads Blurb:

In this wildly imaginative novel for fans of Dark Matter and Ready Player One, listeners are transported to the near future, and when a young boy attempting to teleport gets lost in transit, his parents will do whatever it takes to find him in “the in between.”

The year is 2047, and teleportation is the cutting-edge transportation method of choice – Teleportation Services International (TSI) operates facilities in all of the world’s major cities. When Lillian, a TSI employee, wins a once-in-a-lifetime family vacation, she knows it’s just a photo op for the tech giant, but she takes the opportunity and books a trip to Tokyo with her husband Jackson and their six-year-old son Cole. But before they arrive, tragedy strikes: Cole disappears in transit.

Lillian and Jackson take very different paths to cope: Lillian wants justice for her son’s death and attempts to find those responsible by conducting a covert investigation from within TSI. Jackson, meanwhile, is convinced that Cole is still alive somewhere in “the in between” and teleports back and forth from Japan, over and over again, to find him.

Ultimately, this explosive and thought-provoking story asks ambitious questions about technology, power, and our rapidly changing world.

My Thoughts:

The In Between by Michael Landweber is a futuristic novel about teleportation, but I found it eerily similar to what is going on in the world right now.

This is an Audible Original, and I really enjoyed the narrators, Brittany Pressley and Mark Boyett. Going into the book I already knew I liked Pressley, so it was just icing on the cake when I loved Boyett’s narration just as much. The book switches back and forth between the viewpoints of Lillian and her husband Jackson, and I loved that because it kept things interesting. I also enjoyed both of them as characters, although I liked Jackson just a bit more at times since he was immediately trying to do what he could to find Cole whereas Lillian just seemed a bit more defeated.

I’m not a huge reader of science fiction but I am so glad I got to listen to this book. There was just something about it that completely fascinated me, and I enjoyed the teleportation aspect quite a bit. I haven’t really read any books that have it as a theme and I thought it was very unique. I also didn’t find this book near as confusing as Dark Matter was (although I did love that book too). It was pretty easy to understand even though it was heavy on the technology aspect at times, but not as much as I thought it would be.

The In Between was also a surprisingly emotional read. Lillian and Jackson are dealing with so many things from their past, then when their son goes missing it pulls them to pieces even more. I loved everything about this book, the characters, the plot, the narration; it was all just such a great experience. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes teleportation as a theme, or is a fan of sci-fi in general. And considering it talks about a flu and quarantine, readers will most likely find it the tiniest bit relatable to current times as well.

MY RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ / 5

Thank you to Audible for providing me with an advance review copy of this audiobook! All opinions and thoughts are my own.

 

 

2 thoughts on “AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: The In Between by Michael Landweber @mlandweber @audible_com @brit_pressley #AudiobookReview

    1. I did too! I’m not really sure this should be compared to Dark Matter but it was a great book!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s