BLOG TOUR POST + REVIEW: Head Over Heels by Hannah Orenstein @hannahorens #BookReview @AtriaBooks

head-over-heels-9781982121471_hr

Buy from Amazon

Publisher: Atria Books

Release Date: June 23, 2020

Genre: Contemporary / Romance / Adult Fiction

 

Blurb:

The past seven years have been hard on Avery Abrams: After training her entire life to make the Olympic gymnastics team, a disastrous performance ended her athletic career for good. Her best friend and teammate, Jasmine, went on to become an Olympic champion, then committed the ultimate betrayal by marrying their emotionally abusive coach, Dimitri.

Now, reeling from a breakup with her football star boyfriend, Avery returns to her Massachusetts hometown, where new coach Ryan asks her to help him train a promising young gymnast with Olympic aspirations. Despite her misgivings and worries about the memories it will evoke, Avery agrees. Back in the gym, she’s surprised to find sparks flying with Ryan. But when a shocking scandal in the gymnastics world breaks, it has shattering effects not only for the sport but also for Avery and her old friend Jasmine.

Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jasmine Guillory, Head Over Heels proves that no one “writes about modern relationships with more humor or insight than Hannah Orenstein” (Dana Schwartz, author of Choose Your Own Disaster).

My Thoughts:

Head Over Heels is only my second book by Hannah Orenstein but I knew going into it that it was going to be a winner and I was right! This book is Romcom perfection and I would love to see it as a movie.

I can’t even tell you in proper words how much I loved this book. My sister was in gymnastics when she was younger, but I never really took much interest in it, and that definitely changed reading Head Over Heels. I was fascinated by everything surrounding the gymnastics parts of the book, which were many, and I love how Orenstein balanced it with tough, important topics, humor, and romance. This is a book that I could see being perfect for TV, and it’s not really steamy so it was a little like a heavier Hallmark movie – LOVE!

As was the case with the last book I read by Orenstein (Love at First Like), the writing flows so well and I was fully engaged the entire time. I loved both Avery and her relationship with Hallie equally, and I found myself spilling tears of joy at the end of the book which is why I’m calling it a bit of a tear-jerker. I also enjoyed the romance between Avery and Ryan although that honestly felt like a bonus to the story, whereas Hallie and Avery’s relationship and Avery’s self-doubts then rebirth really shine through as the main stars.

If you haven’t read a book by Orenstein yet, or if you have and already know you love them, I very highly recommend reading Head Over Heels especially if you are at all interested in gymnastics or books set around that sport. This would make a perfect summer or beach read as well, and I can’t wait to see what this author writes next because you know I will be reading it!

MY RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ / 5

Thank you to the publisher for providing me with an advance review copy of this book, all opinions and thoughts are my own.

 

About the author

Hannah Orenstein: author portraits

Hannah Orenstein is the author of Playing with Matches and Love at First Like, and is the senior dating editor at Elite Daily. Previously, she was a writer and editor at Seventeen.com. She lives in Brooklyn.

 

Raves and Reviews

“Hannah Orenstein’s Head Over Heels offers a perfect escape to an alternate 2020, one full of Olympic aspirations and encouraging pep talks.”
PopSugar

 

“A rom-com set in the competitive gymnastics world . . . . Twisty storylines about love and relationships follow.”
MarieClaire.com

 

“Orenstein sticks the landing with this one.”
OprahMag.com

 

Head over Heels is a high-flying romantic comedy unafraid to examine the hardships of competitive gymnastics. Timely and realistic… Head Over Heels will delight anyone heartbroken over the postponement of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, fans of “Stick It” and “The Bronze,” and loyal readers of Lianne Moriarty, Barbara Davis, and Sophie Kinsella.”
Booklist

 

“Funny and quirky.”
—Palm Beach Post

 

“Strikes a powerful chord.”
The Washington Post

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s