AUDIOBOOK + BOOK REVIEW: Sins of the Mother by August Norman @augustnormanau1 @crookedlanebks @Dreamscapeaudio

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books + Dreamscape Media, LLC

Release Date: September 08, 2020

Genre: Fiction / Mystery / Thriller

Blurb

August Norman returns with the second thrilling Caitlin Bergman novel, perfect for fans of Julia Keller, Tess Gerritsen, and Michael Koryta.

Caitlin went in search of her mother…but what she found may set the world on fire.

Caitlin Bergman’s mother is dead. That’s what the award-winning journalist has told everyone for the past forty years. Easier to lie than explain how Maya abandoned her only daughter before dropping off the map forever.

But when a rural sheriff invites Caitlin to the woods of coastal Oregon to identify her mother’s remains, Caitlin drops everything to face the woman she’s spent a lifetime hating. Unfortunately, the body–abandoned on the land of a reclusive cult, the Daughters of God–was left faceless. Instead, Caitlin finds the diary of a woman obsessed with the end of the world, one that hints the cult’s spiritual leader knows the identity of Caitlin’s real father. She’s not the only one looking for clues in her mother’s writing. Johnny Larsen, a violent white supremacist whose family runs the county, thinks the Daughters of God kidnapped his teen-aged daughter–and will do anything to get her back.

At the top of a hill, an army of women wait for the end of days. In the town below, the Larsens plot to purify their county. Caught in the middle, Caitlin must decide which is more important–learning the truth about her past, or saving Mama Maya’s chosen daughters from the end of the world.

My Thoughts

After spending some more time thinking about Sins of the Mother by August Norman, I have decided to bring my rating up from a 4/5 to a 4.5/5. I did this same thing after a reread of book 1 to this series, Come and Get Me, and it clearly goes to show that Norman’s writing really sticks with you. I knew after that first book that I would read everything he writes, and even though it took me a minute, I am so glad I finally read this one. It has a major cult aspect which is always hit or miss for me, but I loved the way it was done in this novel. I was completely engaged in the story, and I loved getting to know our main character Caitlin even better. Caitlin has got to be one of my favorite characters now, and she is just that strong heroine that I need in a novel. I love how this installment focused a lot on her mom and it ended up being a pretty wild ride.

And the audiobook!! The audio is narrated by Natasha Soudek and was actually a different narrator from the first book, and I have to say I was pretty disappointed in the switch. She was fine for Caitlin, but I HATED her accent for the British character. I think it might be the worst one I have ever heard besides my own, and I kinda hope she doesn’t narrate the following books if there are more. I would suggest reading it since the audiobook wasn’t that great in my opinion. However, I loved the cast of characters in Sins of the Mother, and I really liked the different viewpoints as well. I also enjoyed the pacing of this novel, and Norman’s writing really pulls you in and doesn’t let you go. Everything about this cult he created was utterly fascinating and terrifying, and if you are a fan of cults at all (fictional or real), this is gonna be a book you want to read. I still recommend starting with the first book because that is the kind of person I am, and I think it is a good idea anyway, so you have more of Caitlin’s backstory. I really hope this series continues with Norman’s next book, and I can’t wait to see what he comes up with next!

MY RATING

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Thank you to NetGalley for my advanced review copy. All opinions and thoughts are my own.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s